Our main image this week shows the massive grain silo of Liverpool’s Brunswick Dock with the tower of the Anglican Cathedral in the background. The date is January 27th 1960.
It’s a fitting contrast as the Liverpool Grain Storage and Transit Company silo was known as ‘the Dockers’ Cathedral’. Consisting of 320 bins, it was the largest concrete grain silo in Europe.
Brunswick Dock was built by docks’ superintendent Jesse Hartley from 1827 to 1832 to receive imported timber.
Hartley was actually the world’s first full-time professional dock engineer. He learned his trade working for his stonemason father Bernard Hartley and architect and bridgemaster John Carr.
A southern extension was added in 1905 with the dock closing down in 1975. Our second image, from January 3rd that year, shows the final watch going on duty.
Pictured, from left, are acting dockmaster Alec Broadbent and gatemen Bob Bennett, Cyril Vine, Charles Goldson and Geoff Dawson.
It was not the last word for the dock as one lock was reopened in 1987 for small watercraft.
Liverpool Cathedral was still being built in 1960 with the first bay of the nave nearly complete. The building was handed over to the Dean and Chapter in April 1961.
A service of thanksgiving and dedication was attended by the Queen in October 1978.
*Hundreds of pictures from an unforgettable decade are packed into Clive Hardy’s fascinating book Around Merseyside in the 1960s. It’s available at £9.99 plus postage and packaging.
Just go to inostalgia.co.uk to place your order or ring the hotline on 01928 503777.