Welcome again to Then and Now, where each week we compare images of Merseyside streets, landmarks and buildings from bygone days with how they look today.
Our main image this week shows traffic crossing the Leeds and Liverpool Canal at Maghull, Sefton, in November 1934.
Several canalside pubs were built in Maghull over the years, including one at the bridge in our photo. Readers may well remember the Red Lion Inn that was demolished after World War II.
Other pubs included the Traveller’s Rest, pulled down in 1936, and the Horse and Jockey in Melling.
Construction work on the Leeds and Liverpool Canal began in 1770 after the first sod was cut by the Honourable Charles Lewis Mordaunt.
The arrival of the canal was a major boost for the Maghull economy – and not just for the hostelry trade! Sandstone and clay extraction benefited from the new link to Liverpool.
Another form of transport, the railway, came to Maghull in 1849 when the town got its own station on the Liverpool, Ormskirk and Preston Railway line.
In 1933, the Northway A59 road was built through Maghull taking traffic from Liverpool to Ormskirk. It was dualled in the early 1960s.
The swing bridge over the canal at Green Lane was blown up by the IRA in July 1939 as part of the S-Plan or Sabotage Campaign across England. Wreckage from the bridge fell into the canal blocking all barge traffic.
Three bombs landed on Maghull in World War II, damaging houses in Park Lane and Ormonde Drive. Another fell close to the King George V playing fields.
*Hundreds of pictures from an unforgettable decade are packed into Clive Hardy’s fascinating book Around Merseyside in the 1960s. It’s available at £9.99 plus postage and packaging.
Just go to inostalgia.co.uk to place your order or ring the hotline on 01928 503777.