Our main image this week shows Lord Street in May 1943. Bomb damage from the Blitz is still in evidence as trams ply their way along the usually busy thoroughfare.
There are few cars in evidence, but plenty of pedestrians milling along the pavements or crossing via the central refuge.
Liverpool’s last tram – Car 293 – ran from Pier Head to Bowring Park on September 14th 1957. It was part of a procession to mark the end of an era.
The tram is now at the Seashore Trolley Museum in Kennebunkport, Maine, USA.
The first trial tram track in Liverpool was laid in Castle Street in 1865 – and construction of lines for a horse-drawn tramway to Walton and Dingle commenced in 1868.
The development includes a 14-screen Odeon cinema and mini golf as well as restaurants, bars and eateries. There are also apartments, offices and open spaces.
Roughly 300 metres long, Lord Street runs from Church Street and Whitechapel in the east to Castle Street and James Street in the west. It passes the Queen Elizabeth II Law Courts and Derby Square.
Our modern image was taken just before the start of the lockdown in November 2020, when many outlets were still trading. Hopefully they will be open again soon.
*Hundreds of pictures from an unforgettable decade are packed into Clive Hardy’s fascinating book Around Merseyside in the 1960s. It’s available at £9.99 plus postage and packaging.
Just go to inostalgia.co.uk to place your order or ring the hotline on 01928 503777.